2014 Warrnambool Cup Final Field Released

April 28th, 2014

An exciting field of 16 plus four emergencies has been confirmed to line up for the 2014 Listed Warrnambool Cup (2350m) this Thursday May 1st, including several proven performers over the 2014 autumn season.

Moudre has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 Warrnambool Cup

Moudre has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 Warrnambool Cup. Photo: Taron Clarke

Trainer Darren Weir will be offered twice the chance of success in Warrnambool this weekend, having accepted positions in the final field of the feature race for classy stable mates Akzar and Shiny Buttons.

Securing seven wins and twelve places from 34 competitive race starts to date, Akzar has arguably hit career-best condition over his currently preparation; winning three races back-to-back and finishing second in both the Community Race Day Handicap (2000m) and Group 3 Easter Cup (2000m) amongst particularly classy competition most recently.

Likely to return to the spelling paddock following the Warrnambool Cup, Weir is confident the recent form and class of the Selkirk gelding will count for a lot this Thursday.

A proven performer particularly over autumn events, Shiny Buttons finished third in the 2013 edition of the Warrnambool Cup and has continued to produce strong results in proceeding appearances; registering a career total of five wins and fifteen places from only 34 competitive starts.

Geared towards an appearance in the Cup this preparation, the Reset gelding was unlucky to finish second in the Stawell Gold Cup (2000m) last time out, and will reportedly line up in peak condition this Thursday.

Trainer Peter Gelagotis will also be offered two good chances of success in the 2014 Warrnambool Cup, having accepted positions for Mourinho and Hvasstan.

Arguably offering Gelagotis his greatest chance of success this Thursday, Mourinho has returned to the track in great form this time in; unlucky to finish second in the Group 3 TAB Rewards Stakes (1400m) at Flemington first-up before producing a strong turn of foot to overcome poor position and finish sixth in the Listed Golden Mile (1600m) on March 15th.

While unable to figure in the Easter Cup last time out, the Oratorio gelding is arguably the most successful entrant in the 2014 Warrnambool Cup field among Group level events and will be particularly difficult to beat on Thursday.

Securing four wins and three places from 23 race starts to date, Hvasstan produced a strong preparation over the spring of 2013; winning the Drummond Golf Handicap (2040m) before being hampered for a run and unlucky for eighth in the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) on November 2nd.

Confirmed to be partnered by champion jockey Damien Oliver in the 2014 Warrnambool Cup, the Fastnet Rock entire will be a fighting chance if allocated a favourable gate at Monday evening’s barrier draw.

Finishing an impressive third behind Foreteller and Puissance De Lune in the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) in his last preparation, Moudre has continued to build in form in two starts prior to the 2014 Warrnambool Cup, and is set to arrive on Thursday in prime condition.

A likely contestant over the 2014 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, trainer Ciaron Maher is confident the Blevic gelding is more than a chance this week with Jockey Steven Arnold confirmed to return to the saddle.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on the 2014 Warrnambool Cup!

Open an account and sign up for the all-new Ladbrokes Card to take advantage of your winnings just seconds after your pick has passed the post!

2014 Warrnambool Final Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 342111×537 BANCA MO David & Scott Brunton Ben Knobel 0 59.5kg 104
2 x16462x755 SHOREHAM Saab Hasan Chris Symons 0 57.5kg 100
3 0x60011122 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir 0 57kg 99
4 6783875×76 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher Steven Arnold 0 56.5kg 98
5 51340×2650 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Anthony Darmanin 0 56kg 97
6 9618×07208 HVASSTAN Peter Gelagotis Damien Oliver 0 55.5kg 96
7 6462120591 GOTTINO (NZ) Dan O’Sullivan Dean Yendall 0 54kg 93
8 4213×69209 BEL THOR Wez Hunter 0 54kg 92
9 255x13x0x3 FIELDMASTER (NZ) Patrick Payne Ms Michelle Payne 0 54kg 90
10 P7x07987x9 VATUVEI Peter G Moody 0 54kg 90
11 33217×5402 SHINY BUTTONS Darren Weir 0 54kg 89
12 32201×9031 WESTSOUTHWEST (NZ) Robert Smerdon Jack Hill 0 54kg 86
13 140254×312 HAYLAMAN (IRE) Aaron Purcell Ryan Maloney 0 54kg 82
14 0710038×97 SUPREMACY (NZ) Russell Cameron Dean Holland 0 54kg 82
15 6224613×04 PICTURE EDITOR (GB) Michael Moroney 0 54kg 81
16 4114252625 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Ms Nikita Beriman 0 54kg 78
17e 316342×412 ST JEAN (IRE) Aaron Purcell Stephen Baster 0 54kg 76
18e 3951245202 BELIVEAU Clinton McDonald 0 54kg 73
19e 51364820×8 CAROUN (IRE) Patrick F Ryan Ms Jamie Kah (a) 0 54kg 73
20e 7776461827 LUCKZAT (NZ) Wayne Walters 0 54kg 67